The Week In Books: April 28 – May 4

Not the busiest week reading wise – six things finished, a couple more started and still on the go.

Read:

Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris

I Am Shakespeare (a play) by Mark Rylance

Vivian’s Heavenly Ice Cream Shop by Abby Clements

Significant Others by Armistead Maupin

The Three of Us (short story) by Cathy Woodman

Manna from Hades by Carola Dunn

Started:

The Viceroy’s Daughters by Anne de Courcey

Sure of You by Armistead Maupin

Lavender Lady by Carola Dunn

Still reading:

Tales of the Jazz Age by F Scott Fitzgerald

Love, Nina by Nina Stibbe

Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake

What have I learnt making this list? I have too many books on the go at the moment.  And I’m feeling guilty about the fact that I’m still no further on with Titus Groan, which I started in January… The fact that it’s still lingering is another illustration of the problem with the massive to-read pile actually – if I don’t get into something quickly, there’s always something else I want to read, but because the book has been sitting on my shelf for so long, I think that I can’t give up and say it’s not for me.  Although with Titus I’m only 75 pages in and I usually read at least 100 pages or a quarter of the book before I’m prepared to admit defeat. On the bright side, Vivian’s… and I Am Shakespeare were long standing residents of The Shelf, and Dead Reckoning was from the pile too.

As you’ll see I’m working my way through Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City series (expect a post on that at some point) and am nearing the end of the True Blood series – in fact Dead Reckoning was the last I could get for a penny plus postage from Amazon, so I was expecting to have to wait to finish the series and then I found the last two in the library on Thursday!

As for the others, Cathy Woodman is one of the authors on the list of people I automatically buy new stuff from so I picked up her short story soon after it came out, Manna from Hades has been on the Kindle a while but I’d forgotten about it (oops) until I picked up the next two in the series in The Works this week so I bumped it to the top of the pile.

My aim for this week?  To reduce the number of things on the go…

Leave a Reply

