The Week In Books: July 14 – July 20

Slightly derailed by an unexpected nightshift on Friday night but an unexpected Saturday evening at home meant I finished Bill Bryson which made everything look a lot better.   This week coming up is #sunathon – as dreamt up by @EmmaIsWriting – so I’ve put together some summery reads I’m hoping to be reading this week – you can look at them here.

Read:

Death Cloud (Young Sherlock Holmes 1) by Andrew Lane

Tiger Milk by Stephanie de Velasco

The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde

How the Scoundrel Seduces by Sabrina Jeffries

One Summer: America 1927 by Bill Bryson

Started:

Nightingale Wood by Stella Gibbons

American Blonde by Jennifer Niven

Still reading:

Titus Groan by Mervyn Peake

Now as regular readers will know, nightshifts usually mean book buying in the early hours.  Well I resisted – this time the impulse buying was from ASOS’s sale…  So the bank balance did suffer – but not with a book splurge – which is an achievement!  Several arrived in the post – a twitter competition prize from Doubleday for #bookadayuk, a Goodreads review copy of The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House (which isn’t due out until the very end of August so I feel very special to have that one) and Clare Sandy’s What Would Mary Berry Do which is out at the end of the month (and which the author sent to me so I’m very excited about that too).  I’ve been through my diary marking up when the various books I’ve been sent ahead of publication are due out – in the hope that I’ll schedule posts for the appropriate times – I think there’s nothing more annoying than finding out about a really good book that someone else has read and not being able to get hold of a copy yourself!

One thought on “The Week In Books: July 14 – July 20

Leave a Reply

