The Week In Books: August 10 – August 16

A couple of issues this week.  Firstly I got to 90 pages from the end of Paris wife in the early hours of Wednesday morning on my way home from work – and then it fell under my rule about not taking books with less than 100 pages to go to work with me* and so it sat unfinished til the weekend.  Then there was an issue with the Spider in the Corner of the Room – I can’t read it when it’s dark.  It’s too scary. So that’s not finished because I haven’t had enough daylight reading time.  This combining together meant at one point this week I had EIGHT books on the go at once.  Which is ridiculous even for me.  I think I’ve done well to get it down to four!

Read:

Dirty Bertie: An English King Made in France by Stephen Clarke

I Don’t Want To Talk About it by Jane Lovering

Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome**

In The Drink by Allyson K Abbott

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

Wolf Bride by Elizabeth Moss

Started:

The Spider in the Corner of the Room by Nikki Owen

The Piano Man Project by Kat French

Still reading:

The Girl of My Dreams by Peter Davis

A Very Big House in the Country by Claire Sandy

A couple of books bought this week – so a bit of backsliding, but in my defence, they were bridging a gap in a series (I’ve read books 1 and 2, and have book 5 but can’t read it till I bought the ones in between) so really the purchase is helping reduce the pile.  That’s my story anyway, and I’m sticking to it!

* Because I finish them before I’ve finished the train to work and then have to carry around dead weight for the rest of the day.

** Yes, I’ve read this before, but I haven’t reread it in a decade, and it wasn’t on my goodreads list. And I read it properly as part of Novelicious’s Nostalgic Summer Reread.

Leave a Reply

