Book of the Week: I Feel Bad About My Neck

Tough choice for Book of the Week this week.  An honourable mention goes to Trisha Ashley’s new novella A Vintage Christmas, but it’s quite short, and she has a new book out in October, so in the interests of keeping my powder dry, I’ll just leave you a Kindle link to it. Subtle right?  There was another close contender, but I’ve reviewed that for Novelicious, so in the interests of not stealing their thunder, I won’t tell you what it is. Yet.

  
I Feel Bad About My Neck got the nod because, although it’s aimed at a slightly more mature lady than me, this collection of essays and general thoughts on life made me really laugh.  In this, Ms Ephron takes a witty look at ageing, through the eyes of a baby boomer.  I think my favourite is the one about maintenance – and how long women spend on upkeep!

Nora Ephron wrote the screen plays for two of my favourite films when I was a teenager – When Harry Met Sally and You’ve Got Mail and I laughed my way through her novel Heartburn a few years back.  Heartburn is a fictionalised version of the break-up of her second marriage – and some of the themes from that reoccur here.  This isn’t a long read, but it is a very fun one.

My enjoyment of this book was tinged with sadness – as Nora Ephron was already suffering with leukemia at the time that she wrote this, although almost no-one knew that she was ill right up until she died in 2012. I’ll be keeping my eyes open for more of her other writing and it’s a shame there won’t be any more.

Get yourself a copy from Amazon, Waterstones, Foyles or on Kindle or Kobo.

One thought on “Book of the Week: I Feel Bad About My Neck

Leave a Reply

