The Week In Books: May 9 – May 15

Quite a quiet week in reading this week – lots going on in the real world and a busy time at work as well.  You’ll notice I went on a Lorna Hill kick – they were part of that big second-hand/collectable order that I put in with my favourite book dealers a few months back and have been sitting on the side of the to-read bookshelf – so came to the top of the pile as part of my clear-the-bookshelf-so-I-can-refill-it kick.  I think I had read Swan Feather before – but a very long time ago and some of the time line in the Wells books overlaps a lot, so it’s hard to be sure when it was so long ago (20 years I think) so I’m counting it!  The Sali Hughes – which I’ve been dipping in an out of on an as-and-when basis for about 9 months – joins the in progress pile because I’ve started reading it from cover to cover…

Read:

Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch

Northbridge Rectory by Angela Thirkell

Principal Role by Lorna Hill

Swan Feather by Lorna Hill

Back Stage by Lorna Hill

Night Shift by Charlaine Harris

Started:

Pretty Honest by Sali Hughes

Still reading:

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

I continue to exert my willpower to the max – and haven’t ordered any books.  One of the secondhand books I ordered a few weeks back arrived from America this week (the next Charles and Melanie/Malcolm and Suzanne book) so I’m still feeling like things are arriving which is nice.  I’m also trying to be very good with the NetGalley requests too – I’m nearly up to date and want to keep it that way!

Leave a Reply

