The Week In Books: June 13 – June 19

I can’t work out whether I did well this week or not.  Ok in numbers, the amount of books I read is not that big, but several of them were quite chunky books so I’ve actually done a lot of pages – over 2500 pages in fact.  But is that good or not?  I don’t usually add up pages, so I have no idea, and I don’t have the time (or inclination) to go back and add it up for a representative number of weeks.  My Goodread stats average out at just over 2000 pages a week for this year so far, and just over 2100 a week for the whole of last year – but I know that there are always some books that I’ve read that don’t have a good reads page count so won’t have made it into the total.  But hey, on that basis, I’ve done well – because the 2500+ figure doesn’t include the half of the Mary-Jo Putney that I read on the train on Sunday evening…

Read:

Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt

The Tumbling Turner Sisters by Juliette Fay

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

Stormswept by Sabrina Jeffries writing as Deborah Martin

From Pasta to Pigfoot: Second Helpings by Frances Mensah Williams

Wedding Bells for Nurse Connie by Jean Fullerton

Started:

Once a Soldier by Mary-Jo Putney

Sidney Chambers and the Forgiveness of Sins by James Runcie

Still reading:

The Long View by Elizabeth Jane Howard

I pre-ordered Eloisa James’s upcoming novella, but that’s it.  I’m trying to be restrained…

3 thoughts on “The Week In Books: June 13 – June 19

  1. I’ve seen Once a Soldier at the library and been hesitant in reading it, though Mary Jo is one of the many who rarely disappoint. Are you liking it, and is it worth reading?

      • I may just check it out then, once I’ve read the fifteen other books that I just checked out. [My tiny library now lends out ebooks, and a lot of them are brand new books that I’ve been dying to read! (So excited!)]

Leave a Reply

